Excellent 3 night stay - Rating 5/5

Anne and Mick were very hospitable and went the extra mile to make our stay really enjoyable.The double room was spacious and well equipped.The breakfast offering was extensive and good quality,catering for vegetarian and vegan as well as meat-eaters.They gave us a lift to the start of a long day's Pennine Way walk and picked us up from the end where they thoughtfully provided water and a snack!Their advice on places to eat and drink in Appleby was really helpful and they set up a table for us, with wine, on the one evening when we ordered a takeaway.When we return to Cumbria we will definitely stay at Bongate House again.

Reviewer:Mr & Mrs J | Thu 12th Sep 2019 | 8 months ago


Bongate House - Rating 5/5

Comfortable and convenient.We liked the spacious room on the ground floor although it was short of natural light and view, and were grateful that we could have a blanket instead of a duvet.We didn't like the unusually intrusive smoke detector light, flashing at about 4 second intervals.Nice breakfast, beautifully cooked, with ample choice. No tooth mugs.

Response

Dear Mr ThorntonThank you for your review. We are addressing the newly installed smoke detectors and have arranged for the flashing lights to be deactivated on our next service which unfortunately for your visit, is in the next week. I have taken note re the need for a tooth mug and will look to source these. We appreciate constructive criticism and endeavour to ensure our guests have a most comfortable stay.

Reviewer:Mr T | Thu 5th Sep 2019 | 8 months ago


Lovely stay to end Dales High Way walk - Rating 5/5

We stayed here for one night after finishing the Dales High Way walk. A lovely, well-kept house with friendly owners and a great breakfast. Would definately stay again.

Reviewer:Liam L | Tue 27th Aug 2019 | 9 months ago


Stay on 24 August 2019 - Rating 5/5

Very hospitable, we had to miss the cooked breakfast on day of departure due having to leave very early but breakfast cereals toast tea and coffee were available and we were provided with good packed lunch which very welcome, would recommend and be happy to stay again.

Reviewer:Steven K | Mon 26th Aug 2019 | 9 months ago


My stay at Bongate House - Rating 5/5

Very attractive period property with a beautiful garden and superb views from windows.Free parking, free wifi excellent accommodation, comfortable rooms friendly and helpful proprietors.Morning breakfast wide choice of foods and great service.This is my third timeat Bongate House and it won’t be my last.Definitely recommend!!

Response

Thank you Neil for the lovely review. So pleased you enjoyed your stay. I hope the travel home went ok and we look forward to your next visit.

Reviewer:Mr NeilB | Wed 21st Aug 2019 | 9 months ago


Happy to come back - Rating 5/5

It was as coming home, when we entered Bongate House now the third time. A very warm welcome was the first relaxing thing after a long yourney down from Scotland on the way to the Ferry to Hull. The room 3 a beauty in itself, clean with a charming view over the close fields with animals. The near Royal Oak served between 5 and 6:30 pm a very good "Early Bird Meal"for a very reasonable price. The comfortable beds, the modern bathroom and the wonderful breakfast could not be topped. Thank you and excuse our broken knowledge of the English.

Reviewer:Barbara & Jürgen L | Mon 19th Aug 2019 | 9 months ago


Restful Stay- Rating 5/5

We just stayed one night on our way home from Inverness and would stay here again. We had a good sized room with balcony and nice views. Very peacefulfinished with a good breakfast

Reviewer:Keith W | Sun 18th Aug 2019 | 9 months ago


Bongate House - Rating 5/5

First rate in all respects.

Reviewer:Mr B | Sat 10th Aug 2019 | 9 months ago


Review summary - Rating 5/5

A very pleasant place to stay, only sorry we could not stay longer

Reviewer:Ann T | Sat 10th Aug 2019 | 9 months ago


Brilliant Bongate- Rating 5/5

What a delightful place to stay in, we had a wonderful room on the ground floor, beautifully cooked breakfasts for all each day. We all agree that the hosts are so accommodating, they really do go over and above to make you feel at home- cannot wait to visit again

Response

A pleasure to have you guys as returning guests. It feels like family walking through the door.

Reviewer:Deborah V | Thu 1st Aug 2019 | 10 months ago


Safe Haven. - Rating 5/5

Thanks to Bongate House for saving the day. As 5 cyclists on a charity run we arrived at Bongate House soaking wet, 30 miles behind target and very deflated by the weather. We were looked after above and beyond the normal expectations by our host's to enable us to start the next day fresh and revived enough to complete the run (115 miles that day)and raise a large amount of money for charity. Till we arrived at Bongate this was looking doubtful, they made it possible, many many thanks Bongate House. Adeymac.

Response

It was our pleasure to get you out of the rain.We hope you have us logged as a good port in a storm. :)Well done with the sponsored bike ride.

Reviewer:Adey M | Tue 30th Jul 2019 | 10 months ago


Peace and a warm welcome close to the Lakes and Dales - Rating 5/5

We couldn’t have been happier with the warmth of the welcome or the quality of our stay at Bongate House. Ann was very helpful when we had to extend our booking and the room was quiet, comfortable and came with a wonderful view.

Response

Thank you for your lovely review. Wishing you all the best for the future.

Reviewer:Matthew W | Mon 29th Jul 2019 | 10 months ago


Bongate House- Rating 4/5

The welcome could not have been more welcoming very comfortable and a great breakfast we would be quite happy to recommend

Response

We, Mick,my sister and brother in law and myself, very much enjoyed your visit. We hope you are both well and hope that you find time for a return visit.

Reviewer:MrJ A T | Sun 28th Jul 2019 | 10 months ago


Stop over - Rating 4/5

Stopped overnight between Glasgow and York. Ann was a welcoming host. Room was clean and bed comfy. Short walk to local pub for a night cap. Breakfast was cooked to order. Only downside was it was served between 8-9am and check out at 10. After working all week a little lie in would have been nicer especially at the weekend. Otherwise a nice stay.

Reviewer:Dorothy and Des C | Mon 15th Jul 2019 | 10 months ago


Excellent- Rating 5/5

Excellent hospitality, rooms, facilities, menu and breakfast! Comfortable beds too. Thoroughly recommend 😀

Reviewer:Debbie C | Sun 14th Jul 2019 | 10 months ago


over night stay - Rating 4/5

westayed for one night but we can not fault the place The welcome was warm and friendly the room was very clean and comfortable The breakfast was very good

Reviewer:Eric H | Sun 30th Jun 2019 | 11 months ago


Lovely Stay at Bongate House - Rating 5/5

Very nice room, wonderful breakfast and very pleasant hosts, thoroughly recommended

Reviewer:Steve C | Sat 29th Jun 2019 | 11 months ago


Delightful B&B - Rating 5/5

Spotlessly clean, superb service, delightful hosts. Thoroughly recommend Bongate House, perfectly placed to explore the Eden valley.

Reviewer:Jonathan H | Wed 26th Jun 2019 | 11 months ago


Beautiful stop on way home., - Rating 5/5

We thoroughly enjoyed our overnight stay atBongate house. The owners were very friendly, we had a lot in common. The breakfast was very good, the best of our whole weeks holiday!

Reviewer:Yvonne H | Mon 24th Jun 2019 | 11 months ago


As good as always! - Rating 5/5

Great hosts, comfortable bed and beautifully clean throughout.The somewhat date décor is being replaced as quickly as possible so don't let that put you off visiting!The bedrooms are wonderful and tastefully decorated and the bathrooms are fantastic.A lot of effort has gone into a quality upgrade and this takes time.Ann and Mick are certainly renown for putting the needs of their guests first going above what you might expect.Well done to you both!

Reviewer:Mr & Mrs G | Mon 10th Jun 2019 | 11 months ago


Easter 2019 - Rating 5/5

As always, a warm welcome, comfortable room and a very good breakfast.

Reviewer:Colin G | Fri 17th May 2019 | 1 year ago


Cycling stopover - Rating 5/5

What a lovely hotel and great hosts!We arrived in the rain, cold and wet and were warmly greeted by our host.Bikes were securely locked away.Our room was enormous as was the very comfortable bed. It was toasty warm and there were tea &coffee making facilities in the room as well as in the dining room. The room was spotlessy clean, there was a great walk in shower, perfect!Good recommendations for pubs - one nearby and others in the town.Breakfast was perfect too, nothing was too much trouble.We heartily recommend this establishment, great place, great stay!

Response

Thank you for your kind words. We truly hope to see you again.

Reviewer:Val M | Mon 13th May 2019 | 1 year ago


Lovely stay - Rating 5/5

Met on arrival by Anne who showed us to our 2 spacious rooms with super kingsize beds and modern bathrooms. We had room 8, on the ground floor, making it easier for us to let our dog explore the huge, beautifully kept garden. Mum had room 5, up one flight of stairs. We all slept well and enjoyed a good quality breakfast the next day. Anne set up a breakfast table in the lounge to allow our dog to join us, a really nice touch, as dogs cannot enter the dining room. There is a large, communal lounge for guests to relax in. Bongate House is about a 10 minute walk into Appleby and a couple of minutes walk to The Royal Oak, where we enjoyed an evening meal. We would not hesitate in returning to Bongate House. Thank you very much for making our visit so enjoyable.

Reviewer:Pam M | Tue 7th May 2019 | 1 year ago


Welcoming, comfortable and delicious stay - Rating 5/5

The accommodation was spotlessly clean including the en-suite. Very comfortable beds with nice bed linen and duvets.The visit was completed with a very tasty breakfast.

Reviewer:Gay H | Mon 6th May 2019 | 1 year ago


Just the ticket- Rating 5/5

Very comfortable newly upgraded bedroom. En suite was roomy and up to date.Breakfast was absolutely delicious. Owners were helpful, welcoming hosts. Don’t be put off by the dated entrance hall :this is a little gem.

Reviewer:Chris L | Sun 28th Apr 2019 | 1 year ago


Home from Home - Rating 5/5

Had a lovely one night stay here.Very friendly, lovely room and excellent breakfast. I will be going back during this year.

Response

It was lovely to have you stay. We look forward to your return.

Reviewer:Louise B | Tue 16th Apr 2019 | 1 year ago


We\'ll be back next year ! - Rating 5/5

There for one night with friends on a golf trip. Ideal location, just five mins walk from town. Perfect for us, all the facilities we needed and an excellent breakfast in the morning

Response

Thank you. we look forward to your next visit.

Reviewer:MrAndy W | Mon 8th Apr 2019 | 1 year ago


Lovely stay - Rating 4/5

We were visiting friends and booked Bongate House for a 1 night stay. We had a lovely stay. Our host was very friendly and helpful. The room was very comfortable and had everything we needed. Great breakfast which set us up for the day.

Response

So nice to meet you.Glad you enjoyed your stay and for taking the time to give us a lovely review.

Reviewer:Andrea R | Mon 8th Apr 2019 | 1 year ago


A great B & B - Rating 5/5

Bongate House was a terrific stay from start to end. A warm welcome and a few laughs from Mick - and a quality breakfast and lovely chat before we left. Quiet and scenic, handy to town centre and local pub. Thoroughly recommended.

Reviewer:Barbara A | Wed 3rd Apr 2019 | 1 year ago


3RT Christmas Cycling Tour - Rating 5/5

We stayed here for one night on our annual Christmas cycling tour, our bikes were stored in a secure garage, the facilities were very clean &the breakfast was the best of all the tour. Thanks Anne we will be back.

Response

Dear Paul.Thank you for the lovely review. It was a pleasure to have you stay. I hope the cycle from us was not too cold.Kind regards, Anne

Reviewer:Paul C | Mon 17th Dec 2018 | 1 year ago


Cosy Comfortable and friendly B&B - Rating 5/5

High quality furnishing and comfortable bed coupled with friendly welcome and tasty breakfast. Also good value. Top Notch.

Reviewer:Adrian L | Sun 2nd Dec 2018 | 1 year ago


Walking boots ready - Rating 5/5

A welcoming and comfortable base for our challenging walk on the Pennine Way.

Reviewer:Mrs Judith B | Sat 27th Oct 2018 | 1 year ago


Walking boots ready - Rating 5/5

A welcoming and comfortable base for our challenging walk on the Pennine Way.

Reviewer:Mrs Judith B | Fri 26th Oct 2018 | 1 year ago


Good value B&B - Rating 4/5

Enjoyed the stay and the pub across the road.One of the best breakfasts ever!

Reviewer:Roger H | Fri 19th Oct 2018 | 1 year ago


Bongate house october 2018 - Rating 5/5

Excellent accommodation and facilities, very welcome on a wet and windy evening

Reviewer:Dan E | Sun 14th Oct 2018 | 1 year ago


Warm welcome!! - Rating 5/5

Extremely light, bright and comfortable room.Very warm welcome received from Ann &Mick.Really helpful and couple who were more than happy to advise on the local area, and on the best places to eat out.Great breakfast to start the day off too!Thank you for a great stay.

Reviewer:Jill H | Sun 14th Oct 2018 | 1 year ago


Walking The Dales High Way - Rating 5/5

We arrived here on a Sunday evening, having completed the last stage of The Dales High Way. We were made to feel very welcome the moment we arrived. Our room was spacious and clean and the breakfast excellent. Would highly recommend Bongate House, for anybody planning a trip to Appleby

Reviewer:Roy L | Sun 30th Sep 2018 | 1 year ago


Lovely stay! - Rating 4/5

Our room was just lovely and the owner, Ann, couldn't do enough for us. Breakfast was delicious with home cooked porridge too. All in all we'd definitely recommend Bongate House.

Reviewer:Frances J | Mon 24th Sep 2018 | 1 year ago


Warm Welcome and lovely accommodation - Rating 5/5

This was our first visit, a recce for future stopovers here on our planned cycle forays to the southern Eden Vale.Staff were friendly and keen to make our stay pleasant.They made an extra effort to provide for our no-oil vegan(Dr Esselstyn) diet and are well set up for Cycle tourists.We will return next year, God willing.

Reviewer:Wendy W | Thu 20th Sep 2018 | 1 year ago


Calm, comfortble haven. - Rating 4/5

My husband is cycling Land's End to John O'Groats, Bongate House proved an ideal place for both of us.Safe car parking for my and lock up garage for the bike. Mick welcomed us, was friendly and helpful. Thank you Mick.Great room and facilities good Recommended Royal Oak to eat just down hill.Good

Reviewer:Jane S | Mon 17th Sep 2018 | 1 year ago


Friendly, great breakfasts and good location - Rating 5/5

Perfect for a stopover just on the outskirts of Appleby or for longer durations in the Eden Valley.We stayed in room 8, the only ground floor room which is ideal if you are travelling with a dog. There is also a large lawn at the rear of the house on which you can take your dog, although it is not enclosed.Lovely breakfasts and plenty of choice.

Reviewer:Angela B | Thu 13th Sep 2018 | 1 year ago


Friendly welcome- Rating 4/5

A very comfortable guesthouse with bedrooms and bathrooms newly refurbished and a lovely couple who couldn’t do enough to welcome 6 bedraggled PW Walkers . Good value pack lunches too xx

Reviewer:Lucy W | Tue 11th Sep 2018 | 1 year ago


A comfortable interruption between Scotland and the Ferry - Rating 5/5

We have been verry happy to have such a comfortable stop on our yourney from Scotland to the Ferry at Hull. Having driven the hole day at is very relaxing to have a warm welcome and a comfortable room and bathroom. Starting with a rich breakfast in the morning helps to feel well the whole day. Thanks

Reviewer:Barbara & Jürgen L | Sun 26th Aug 2018 | 1 year ago


A home from home - Rating 5/5

Would return to Bongate house and would recommend it to others, lovely big clean and comfortable room with a great ensuite, the breakfast was excellent - the hosts also friendly and helpful!

Reviewer:Roz A | Sat 25th Aug 2018 | 1 year ago


Overnight stay- Rating 4/5

We had a very pleasant 1 night stay. We received a warm welcome and the room was very nice with views to the garden fields.our breakfasts was very good and we had good contact owners

Reviewer:David S | Wed 22nd Aug 2018 | 1 year ago


Walking the Lady Anne\'s Way - Rating 5/5

My wife and I took 6 days to walk the Lady Anne's Way from Skipton to Penrith.Appleby was our penultimate night, and Bongate House was outstanding.Tea and cakes on arrival and a fantastic room.What more could you eant at the end of a 20 mile walk?THOROUGHLY recommended.

Reviewer:Mr Richard G | Wed 22nd Aug 2018 | 1 year ago


Short but very sweet - Rating 5/5

Last minute booking phoned hotel room rate cheaper than last min sitesgreeted warmlyroom with balcony lovely and cosy breakfast lovely and load to eatno requests too much troublevery relaxed chatty and friendlywill definitely go back with dogs and teenager

Reviewer:Gaynor D | Tue 21st Aug 2018 | 1 year ago


Weekend in the Lakes - Rating 5/5

Appleby is quiet and relaxing with beautiful scenery.Bongate house was lovley.Idealy located only 5 mins walk into town.We arrived early and was allowed to our room which was ready.3 very comfy beds.Breakfast was absolutely wonderful.Couldn't fault anything.Our hosts were lovely too.

Reviewer:Natalie M | Mon 20th Aug 2018 | 1 year ago


Out 2night stay at Appleby- Rating 5/5

Ann and Mick the owners were lovely friendly people, and Mick cooks a fantastic breakfast ! The house was lovely and clean and the rooms are very comfortable with everything you need for your stay , when in that area again I would definitely stay again

Reviewer:Penny S | Mon 20th Aug 2018 | 1 year ago


Over night stay- Rating 5/5

Lovely warm and friendly fantastic breakfast very close to town centre would highly recommend

Reviewer:Mr Keith B | Mon 20th Aug 2018 | 1 year ago


Helpful, friendly . Nothing too much trouble- Rating 5/5

A group of friends stayed overnight . We were able to leave our bicycles safely the first day and our cars the second day and even given access to a room to freshen up after our bike ride. We had left behind a saucepan we needed and asked the lady where we could buy one - she very kindly lent us one . The bathroom in the triple room we shared was new and beautifully clean and well fitted. There were plenty of bath sheets and lovely shower / hand washes . Breakfast was very good and efficient with very attentive service.A superb find . Thank you very much indeed .

Reviewer:Mary S S | Mon 13th Aug 2018 | 1 year ago


Yorkshire visitors- Rating 5/5

Clean comfortable and excellent breakfast

Reviewer:Mr F | Tue 24th Jul 2018 | 1 year ago


A great wee find!!! - Rating 5/5

Spent one night here in July and would happily recommend to anyone. Room was not only lovely but was also very spacious. Our host was very very friendly and nothing was a bother and the breakfast set us both up for the day, it was delicious!!! Will defo be back 👍🏻

Reviewer:Evelyn C | Mon 23rd Jul 2018 | 1 year ago


Very friendly & convenient location - Rating 5/5

Short stay whilst planning a move to the area. Ann and Mick were super helpful, Ann with her useful tips on the area. Lovely quiet stay with superb English breakfast and other choices. We will be back for that cuppa in the near future :)

Reviewer:Marie H | Sun 22nd Jul 2018 | 1 year ago


Bongate House - Rating 5/5

For me this was a last minute stay for 3 days whilst visiting my brother who live locally. Comfortable, clean and very well presented room. Was felt very welcome by my hosts, I was well looked after. Fed well on a veggie breakfast and am certain that I have gained a few extra Lbs!My choice to stay when I next visit. Thank you

Response

Dear DavidThank you for the kind review. It was a pleasure getting to know you and your mum.We hope to see you again soon.Anne & Mick

Reviewer:Daniel N | Mon 16th Jul 2018 | 1 year ago


Family Visit - Rating 5/5

I booked two rooms for a family visit from London, one for my mother and another for my brother, as my daughter and her family had taken over our house during the same visit.The rooms were lovely and clean and the owners amazingly friendly and accommodating (pun intended).Althoygh I didn't have one my veggie brother enjoyed the food and my mother complained she ate too much (!).All visitors have left now and have said how much they enjoyed their visit to Appleby.

Response

Thank you Daniel.I know your family enjoyed visiting with you. It was a pleasure to have them stay with us so that we also benefitted with getting to know a fellow Appleby resident too.

Reviewer:Daniel N | Thu 12th Jul 2018 | 1 year ago


a stay in june - Rating 5/5

enjoyed my stay very nice

Reviewer:Iain S | Sat 23rd Jun 2018 | 1 year ago


Fantastic stay - Rating 5/5

Really welcoming, comfy - great breakfast and even gave us an OS map of the area when we realised we had the wrong one!

Reviewer:Simon K | Sun 27th May 2018 | 2 years ago


Really welcoming hosts - Rating 4/5

We had a lovely stay at Bongate. We were made to feel extremely welcome and nothing was too much trouble---they even provided fantastic sunshine. Although the hotel was being re roofed at the time of our stay it did not affect us at all. We certainly will stay again if we return to Appleby. We certainly hope to as it is a lovely place.

Reviewer:Elaine C | Wed 9th May 2018 | 2 years ago


Beautiful- Rating 5/5

Wonderful service, beautiful room and reasonable price. Very helpful travel advice from the owner. Thank you so much.

Reviewer:Odelia M | Sat 28th Apr 2018 | 2 years ago


Great bnb- Rating 5/5

An ideal place to stay for our walking holiday. Comfortable beds (enough singles), good showers, good breakfasts and a friendly welcome.

Reviewer:Heather H | Wed 25th Apr 2018 | 2 years ago


Excellent- Rating 5/5

Would definitely recommend this bed and breakfast.Very clean, comfortable,spacious. We had the room at the back with a balcony, lovelyviews. The owners Ann and Mick lovely people

Response

Again thank you for your booking and kind review. The scaffold will soon be down and new furniture has arrived for the balcony. With that and some new flowerpots we hope that any future bookings will be an even nicer experience. Enjoy you next walking adventure and we hope to see you again.

Reviewer:Mrs Barbara H | Mon 23rd Apr 2018 | 2 years ago


Enjoyable weekend Stay at Bongate House - Rating 5/5

Really enjoyed our weekend stay at Bongate House. Lovely room with comfortable beds and excellent breakfast. Anne was very attentive and helpful providing us with a sandwich lunch for our days walking. Also welcomed fresh milk being made available in the room for tea and coffee. Thank you and good luck with upgrading plans.

Response

Thank you for your kind review. So glad you had lovely weather for your walk.

Reviewer:Gill K | Mon 23rd Apr 2018 | 2 years ago


First class - Rating 4/5

First class friendly service. Good food. Good accommodation.

Response

Thank you. I have to say I love this life. We get to meet so many lovely people.Thank you for staying at a time that we had the roof off and so the house not looking its best.

Reviewer:James W | Sun 22nd Apr 2018 | 2 years ago


Lovely stopover! - Rating 5/5

A great little hotel with lovely owners.The refurbishment is well underway now and offers spacious rooms with beautifully appointed en-suite shower rooms including very large shower space.Lovely bedding and towels with decent toiletries add to the luxury.Breakfast offered a great choice of teas, and other drinks, fresh fruit, yoghurt and a fabulous cooked breakfast.We didn't try the porridge but I can't imagine it would be disappointing.With happy banter from Anne and Mick this proved to be a great stopover from Scotland and we'll certainly do it again.Many thanks.

Reviewer:Mr & Mrs G | Sun 11th Mar 2018 | 2 years ago


Mini break to Appleby - Rating 5/5

Welcoming hosts, comfortable rooms, excellent breakfasts. Would definitely stay again.

Reviewer:J J | Tue 28th Nov 2017 | 2 years ago


Night away - Rating 5/5

Good, clean accommodation. Excellent breakfast, which set us up for a day outdoors. Very friendly helpful owners, who are improving the guest house as an ongoing project.

Reviewer:Helen S | Sun 19th Nov 2017 | 2 years ago


First class - Rating 5/5

I really enjoyed my stay at Bongate House. A beautiful, clean, quiet en-suite room with a very comfortable bed and a great view over the garden. Delicious, plentiful breakfast and friendly, helpful hosts. First class!

Reviewer:Jane B | Fri 13th Oct 2017 | 2 years ago


Lovely Stay at Bongate - Rating 5/5

I had a fantastic stay at Bongate, great hosts, Room 2 is amazing with great views &my own balcony, just a shame not the weather to enjoy it. Very comfy bed &quiet room &delicious breakfast just to crown it all :) Will definitely be back :)

Reviewer:L | Tue 3rd Oct 2017 | 2 years ago


All you could wish for - Rating 5/5

Can't really fault this guest house, the only slight quibble being the room wasn't ready when we arrived. Ideal location for the Lake District and North Yorkshire. Bedroom was very good with a good sized bathroom, and a nice balcony and views over the town. Breakfast was excellent. All you could wish for !

Reviewer:David S | Thu 28th Sep 2017 | 2 years ago


B&B stay - Rating 5/5

Another great stay for 2 nights. Mick does a super breakfast. Thanks. We will be back soon.

Reviewer:Dan R | Wed 27th Sep 2017 | 2 years ago


Perfect for cycling - Rating 5/5

Lovely comfortable room, nice and warm, garage for the bikes, nice pub less than 5 minutes away and absolutely delicious breakfast with lots of choice and home made jam. The owners are going to a lot of effort to make it nice and it shows- and all at a reasonable price too.

Reviewer:Harriott P | Sun 24th Sep 2017 | 2 years ago


Very High Standards - Rating 5/5

The Owners are first class and try their best to make your stay as pleasant and comfortable as possible. The Bedroom I stayed in was immaculate and spotlessly clean. The on suite Bathroom was brandnew and finished to a very high standard. Supplied in the Bedroom were TV, Tea and Coffee the Bathroom had shampoo and conditioner which may be a minor thing but it shows the consideration and thoughtfulness the owner's have taken to detail.The Breakfast Room was also very impressive, being bright, airy, clean with excellent decor. For Breakfast there is a choice of Full English, Porridge with a range of Cereals, Fruit Juices, Tea, Coffee, Toast and more, all Served by the helpful and cleerful hosts.I would be very happy to stay again and I highly recommend staying at Bongate House.

Reviewer:Clive S | Fri 22nd Sep 2017 | 2 years ago


Nice old house - Rating 5/5

The Bongate House was extremely neat and clean. The room was very comfortable, and I enjoyed the heat after a long day of walking in the rain and hail.

Reviewer:James B | Sat 16th Sep 2017 | 2 years ago


Overnight stay. - Rating 5/5

Very welcoming. Lovely room and superb breakfast. Will use this B&B again. Excellent.

Reviewer:Dan R | Sat 16th Sep 2017 | 2 years ago


very plesent stay. - Rating 5/5

M wife and I stayed for a 1 night stay. this is a very warm and friendly atmosphere. the rooms are well decorated even though the owners have just taken over in the last year. they have high hopes for the BB with a lot of renovating in the closed season to get on with to make it even better than it already is. The food was of a high quality and they couldn't do enough for you.defiantly stay again in the hopefully near future.

Reviewer:Mr W | Sat 16th Sep 2017 | 2 years ago


Single night stay - Rating 5/5

Excellent, roomy, comfortable, friendlyp

Reviewer:Edward C | Thu 31st Aug 2017 | 2 years ago


Single night stay - Rating 5/5

Excellent, roomy, comfortable, friendlyp

Reviewer:Edward C | Thu 31st Aug 2017 | 2 years ago


Fabulous stay at bi gate house - Rating 5/5

Had a lovely one night stay . Hostess was very friendly and we had pleasure is talking to interesting people in a very relaxed atmosphere. Room really clean and comfortable and the breakfast was delicious . Would definitely stay again .

Reviewer:C C | Mon 21st Aug 2017 | 2 years ago


A place to stay on your way - Rating 5/5

Whether passing through, as we were to Scotland, or choosing Bondgate House for a longer stay, you will not be disappointed with the welcome and comfort of this town house on the edge of the moors in Appleby. Clean rooms and plentiful good food at break fast will greet you here.

Reviewer:Cameron R | Mon 14th Aug 2017 | 2 years ago


Good B&B - Rating 5/5

Stayed one night - very clean and tidy. Helpful staff. Couldn't fault the breakfast. Can recommend and would stay again.

Reviewer:SARAH W | Mon 7th Aug 2017 | 2 years ago


Lovely B&B and will definitely be back!- Rating 5/5

Room was superb, beds set off perfectly for a young family. Had everything you needed and was lovely and clean. Breakfast was amazing!!! The full English was cooked to perfection and could tell the produce was fresh. Can't wait to book again for next year as the host was so welcoming and accommodating. Easily 5/5 or 5 stars for this place.

Reviewer:Liz M | Mon 7th Aug 2017 | 2 years ago


Very welcoming- Rating 5/5

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Bongate House. Anne and Mick were the perfect hosts. Delicious cooked breakfasts and lovely room. Will definitely stay again.

Reviewer:Mrs Vicky C | Thu 3rd Aug 2017 | 2 years ago


Excellent - Rating 5/5

Very comfortable nights stay and made to feel very welcime. Will definitely use Bongate House again.

Reviewer:Mr. Alistair C | Fri 21st Jul 2017 | 2 years ago


excellent - Rating 5/5

warm welcome , lovely room, good location

Reviewer:Mr. Barry C | Thu 22nd Jun 2017 | 2 years ago


BONGATE HOUSE IS A GREAT PLACE TO STAY. - Rating 5/5

This is a fantastic B&B Ann &Mick are a friendly caring couple nothing is to much trouble.We realy enjoyed our three day stay and have booked a place for next year. Breakfasts are lovely and accomidation spotless.

Reviewer:Carole & Bill R | Mon 19th Jun 2017 | 2 years ago


An Absolute Diamond- Rating 5/5

The breakfast was amazing. I felt so welcome and my dog Chester was made to feel so welcome. Nothing was too much. The room was clean, tidy and the bed was very comfortable. The garden is so peaceful and relaxing. Couldn't of asked for anymore. Will definitely return.

Reviewer:Emma G | Sun 18th Jun 2017 | 2 years ago


GypsyFair Weekend - Rating 5/5

We had a great three day stay at Bongate House Ann &Mick couldn,t be friendlier they make you feel at home and nothing is to much trouble. We have pre booked for next year and we are looking to another lovely break Thank you so much. Carole &Bill xx

Reviewer:Carole & Bill R | Wed 14th Jun 2017 | 2 years ago


Another lovely stay - Rating 5/5

Thankyou for looking after me so well yet again. A wonderful friendly place to stay

Reviewer:R | Mon 12th Jun 2017 | 2 years ago


Top Quality B&B - Rating 5/5

Very comfortable triple room.Good secure cycle storage.We enjoyed having use of the sitting room.Very friendly welcome &after a day of cycling, the coffee and banana cake were much appreciated!Excellent breakfast.

Reviewer:Mr Alan F | Wed 24th May 2017 | 3 years ago


fantastic holiday - Rating 5/5

Thank you to anne and mick for being wonderful hosts. We were made at home right away and nothing was too much trouble. food was excellent and those beds were so comfortable we didn't want to get out of them.thank you so much for making our holiday so memorable.

Reviewer:Mr & Mrs P | Sun 23rd Apr 2017 | 3 years ago


Wonderful - Rating 5/5

What a delightful property and so welcoming. Being brought a jug of fresh milk for the tea and coffee in the room was a lovely touch, simple but it makes a huge difference.Breakfast was designed to stop me moving for an hour or two afterwards;well overfed just about sums it up.The room was spacious, comfortable and warm and despite being at the front of the house it was quiet enough that I slept far longer than I usually do.It is often hard to find anywhere that is happy to accommodate two dogs but the dogs were not only welcomed there is enough garden for them to take a quick bedtime constitutional without venturing onto the road.All in all, this proved to be a fabulous choice of accommodation with easy access to the town for evening meals and a couple of beers. I have a feeling that we will be back.Thank you.

Reviewer:Ian B | Tue 15th Nov 2016 | 3 years ago


Home from home- Rating 5/5

Very comfortable rooms.More than ample breakfast and our hosts were superb. Thankyou Anne and Mick.Highly recommended.

Reviewer:Colin D | Mon 14th Nov 2016 | 3 years ago


An oasis on the Pennine way - Rating 5/5

My son was walking the pennine way in November.Our stay at Bongate House provided us with the ideal respite that he needed after a mixture of camping and bunk houses.We were made to feel very welcome and nothing was too much trouble for our hosts.We had an early morning start at around 06:30, but coffee and a packed lunch were waiting for us.I returned for an excellent full English breakfast later!The rooms were spotless and the heating and hot shower were very welcome.It was a pleasure to stay somewhere where our dog was genuinely welcome.I would highly recommend Bongate House.Thank you.

Reviewer:Dr. Chris T | Tue 8th Nov 2016 | 3 years ago


November weekend break - Rating 5/5

Bongate House is now under new ownership, and despite being the only guests in for the whole weekend, nothing was too much trouble for the new owners Mick and Anne. We were made to feel very welcome. Our room was spacious and lovely and warm on arrival. The whole house was spotlessly clean and the bed was very comfy with good pillows too. Breakfast selection was good and a full English breakfast was cooked to perfection. Although the house is a little dated in decor, Anne and Mick have plans to update it. We were fortunate to be given a tour of the house and rooms and to hear of the plans for the future of both the house and garden. We will definitely return and look forward to watching the transformation take place.

Reviewer:Mr. David R | Tue 8th Nov 2016 | 3 years ago


Superb - Rating 5/5

Very friendly and homely B&B, breakfast was great, single room as lovely, bed very comfortable, felt at home, highly recommended.

Reviewer:Frances S | Mon 4th Jul 2016 | 3 years ago


Bongate House - Rating 5/5

Only here for 1 day, Excellent hospitality from Anne and Mike, Room clean and comfortable if a little dated, Nothing was too much trouble for them, Great food and atmosphere will certainly be planning a return visit

Reviewer:Paul M | Mon 4th Jul 2016 | 3 years ago


high standard typical English B&B - Rating 4/5

Everything one can expect and wish from a typical English B&B.One small minor point was de wifi signal that dropped quickly to unusable going away from the hall. But steps are taken to solve this.

Reviewer:Guido V | Mon 4th Jul 2016 | 3 years ago


Good Pennine Way Stay - Rating 4/5

Stayed one night as part of a Pennine Way walk. Nice welcome. Comfy clean rooms, good breakfast, and lift to the start of my walk at Dufton. Very walker friendly, thank you for saving my legs! One thing could be better, fresh coffee at breakfast rather than instant.

Reviewer:Julie K | Mon 20th Jun 2016 | 3 years ago


nice stay - Rating 4/5

nice room, comfortable bed enjoying a great night sleep, very nice bathroom, excellent breakfast. would recommend to family and friends.

Reviewer:Mr. steven c | Wed 25th May 2016 | 4 years ago


Dennis Wyatt - Rating 4/5

Room 2 a fine double bedroom with ensuite with balcony roof good valueI had porridge for breakfast and it was very nice.Pleasant and polite patrons who had just taken over.I wish them every success.

Reviewer:Mr. Christopher G | Thu 19th May 2016 | 4 years ago


Very comfortable… would definitely stay again - Rating 5/5

It may be listed as a B&B, and consequently the single room I stayed in may have been on the small side (i.e.. cozy)…. but in all other respects I found all facilities, service, hospitality and location first class. I checked in very early. Shared bathroom was spick and span… loads of towels.Breakfast… anything and everything that I might have expected seemed to be available (even Marmite).Even the room's folder of information was comprehensive (I checked my train times in it).And my host John made me feel very welcome.I was just sorry I wasn't staying longer !

Reviewer:Sean M | Wed 4th May 2016 | 4 years ago


Just the job - Rating 4/5

Very friendly welcome. Comfortable beds. Helpful directions to local amenities and owner rang the pub to reserve a table. Excellent English breakfast with all the trimmings. Ideal stopover for tired walkers. No hesitation to recommend it. Thank you.

Reviewer:Mr. Steve J | Mon 2nd May 2016 | 4 years ago


lovely house - Rating 4/5

Owners were lovely and made us feel at home. The room was spacious with ensuite.Good cooked breakfast. Garden is lovely too. Not too far a walk to town and very short walk to town. The ensuite was a bit cold so I would recommend getting a heated towel rail

Reviewer:Angela C | Tue 12th Apr 2016 | 4 years ago


The best B & B in Cumbria - Rating 5/5

Bongate House is without doubt, one of the best places we have ever stayed in. The hosts cater for all your needs in their beautiful home and you are made to feel like one of the family. There wasn't anything we could think of that would have made our stay any better. I have already rebooked for August and will be bringing my 98 year old mum to enjoy it as much as we did. What more can I say? Thank you Mary and John. You are the perfect hosts.

Response

Thank you for your very kind comments.

Reviewer:Mrs. Ina C | Mon 11th Apr 2016 | 4 years ago


My stay at Bongate House - Rating 5/5

The welcome from John was warm and friendly.I had a camper van and I was able to park it in a secure off-road location.The room was spacious, comfortable and clean and the breakfast was great!I look forward to my next trip to the Lakes...

Response

Thank you for your kind comments

Reviewer:Peter M | Mon 28th Mar 2016 | 4 years ago


Pity it was only one night! - Rating 5/5

Just returned from an excellent stay at the Bongate House. I stayed in a double room en-suit which was spacious and very comfortable. Room facilities were excellent with tea and coffee making, TV and Wifi. The room was situated on the ground floor and would probably be suitable for those that have difficulty walking or use a wheelchair. We all received a warm welcome after a long day travelling. Breakfast was excellent too with a choice of cereals and a full english breakfast. Vegetarians were well catered for too. Our party all left with a positive opinion of our stay. Highly recommendthe Bongate House for a homely and comfortable stay.

Response

Thank you for your very kind comments. Hope to see you again one day.

Reviewer:Mark C | Mon 28th Mar 2016 | 4 years ago


Bongate House - Rating 5/5

Very comfortable and very welcoming. Value for money. Will definitely be back for a third stay.

Response

Thank you for your comments

Reviewer:Kate M | Mon 30th Nov 2015 | 4 years ago


great - Rating 5/5

The hotel and gardens were lovely. The room was nice, comfortable and clean. Breakfast was great. Could not fault anything 10/10

Response

Thank you for your very kind comments

Reviewer:Miss. robyn s | Fri 16th Oct 2015 | 4 years ago


Returning from LEJOG - Rating 5/5

Excellent stay, good room and breakfast.

Response

Thank you for your kind comments

Reviewer:Mr. Mr C | Sun 20th Sep 2015 | 4 years ago


Excellent stay - Rating 5/5

We received a warm and friendly welcome from the owners and the guest house was of good quality. We had an excellent stay there and would definitely stay there again in the future.

Response

Thank you for your kind comments.

Reviewer:Mr. Gary H | Wed 2nd Sep 2015 | 4 years ago


Boutique B&B in the country - Rating 5/5

Warm welcome, clean room and great breakfast.beautiful garden to explore.

Response

Thank you for your kind comments

Reviewer:BRIAN M | Sun 30th Aug 2015 | 4 years ago


Bongate House - Rating 5/5

We had a very comfortable overnight stay in this welcoming, well-appointed house with splendid gardens. We would recommend it whole-heartedly to anyone either passing through or basing a holiday in Appleby.

Response

Thank you for your kind comments.

Reviewer:Mrs. Celia H | Fri 28th Aug 2015 | 4 years ago


Great b and b - Rating 5/5

Stayed at a lot of b and b .but this was a very clean comfertable and frendly.the breakfast was great and the hosts were very freendly to.i would recomend this place to anyone.thank you for a pleasent stay.

Response

Thank you for your kind comments. Glad you enjoyed your stay.

Reviewer:Graham P | Thu 6th Aug 2015 | 4 years ago


B&B at Bongate House ** - Rating 5/5

I was made to feel most welcome. Nothing was too much trouble. Plenty of parking space. Room was lovely and clean as was the bathroom areas. Breakfast was fantastic.

Response

Thank you for your very kind comments

Reviewer:Ann J | Mon 3rd Aug 2015 | 4 years ago


Perfect stay - Rating 5/5

We booked at short notice but were given a warm and efficient welcome. Nothing was too much trouble including booking a local pub/restaurant for us, for a splendid meal. The room had everything we needed for a comfortable stay and breakfast was excellent, including homemade marmalade.

Response

Thank you for your very kind comments

Reviewer:Lynn R | Mon 3rd Aug 2015 | 4 years ago


Helpful & Friendly - Rating 5/5

I stayed here, in Room 5, whilst walking the 100 mile "Lady Anne's Way".The welcome could not have been warmer and John even rang the local pub (Royal Oak) and got me a table for dinner even though they were fully booked!My room was a double and well sized. The en suite was small but functional and the shower, whilst not overly blessed with water flow was, again, perfectly adequate.I didn't find the bed very comfy, even feeling that it was on a slope. This is probably not the case but I'm just telling it as it was for me.Breakfast was lovely - fresh cooked and with plenty of supplementary items including home made preserves.In summary - good value for money and whilst John is at the helm I wouldn't hesitate to revisit. Please have a look at that mattress though :-).

Reviewer:Mr. Robert B | Sun 31st May 2015 | 5 years ago


good - Rating 5/5

very friendly and helpful staff, good facilities

Response

Thank you for your comments

Reviewer:Nigel B | Tue 12th May 2015 | 5 years ago


appleby - Rating 5/5

very friendly with excellent service..large comfortable room

Response

Thank you for your very kind comments

Reviewer:Mrs. Debbie C | Mon 4th May 2015 | 5 years ago


Wise Choice - Rating 5/5

Good location, really nice place, ask for Room 2 if you want a peacefuel view of the back garden with a balcony.Will go again

Response

Thank you for your very kind remarks. Hope to see you again

Reviewer:Linda T | Tue 7th Apr 2015 | 5 years ago


our report - Rating 5/5

High quality and friendly accommodation plus an excellent breakfast made our stay stress free and enjoyable

Response

Thank you for very kind comments. Hope to see you again

Reviewer:Alf C | Mon 30th Mar 2015 | 5 years ago


A very pleasant discovery ... - Rating 5/5

I needed nothing more than somewhere simple to put my head down for the night, and booked an inexpensive single room.On arrival John advised that as they weren't quite full he would upgrade free of charge and put me in a lovely ensuite double - immaculate and very comfortable.Breakfast was as good as it gets.Highly recommended.

Response

Thank you for your very kind comments and look forward to meeting you again one day.RegardsJohn

Reviewer:Robbie M | Thu 5th Mar 2015 | 5 years ago


great - Rating 5/5

great place will recommend to anyone brillent owners :-)

Response

Thank you for your very kind comments greatly appreciated

Reviewer:Andrew C | Fri 19th Dec 2014 | 5 years ago


Outstanding - Rating 5/5

The weekend stay we had here was absolutely perfectCould not fault one thing .Clean tidy welcoming and very friendlyWe will definetly be backOutstanding hospitality

Response

Thank you for your kind comments. Look forward to meeting you again.

Reviewer:Craig L | Sun 7th Dec 2014 | 5 years ago


Ideal - Rating 5/5

This accommodation was perfect for a female travelling alone.It was easy to find, located on the main road into Appleby. \it is a short 5 minute walk into the centre, but is located away from the busier pubs.It has private parking.The only downside was having to share toilet and bathroom with one other room, however as there are 2 toilets separate to the bathroom this wasn't an issue.The decor may be a little old fashioned for some, but everything was clean and in full working order.The staff were very friendly and helpful and breakfast was excellent.I thought it was very good value for money and would definitely stay here again/would recommend.

Response

Thank you for your comments

Reviewer:Dorothy G | Mon 22nd Sep 2014 | 5 years ago


Bongate House Appleby in Westmoreland - Rating 5/5

Bongate House is a wonderful place to stay, an easy stroll from the centre of Appleby, the friendly hosts provide clean, comfortable rooms, fantastic hearty breakfasts and helpful service for cyclists, walkers and holidaymakers. It was the best B&B on our cycle tour of Cumbria!

Reviewer:Ms. Pamela B | Wed 10th Sep 2014 | 5 years ago


Superb! - Rating 5/5

A great Guest House, confortable and welcoming. A stayed as part of a long distance walk from Shipley to Hadrian's wall. I spent each night in a different B&B and this was the best of the bunch. Highly recommended.

Response

Thank you for your very kind comments

Reviewer:Mr. Kevin D | Sat 6th Sep 2014 | 5 years ago


Excellent Service - Rating 5/5

A great B&B with outstanding service. Helped us out a difficult time when attending a family event and could not have been more welcoming.

Response

Thank you for your very kind comments. Only to pleased to help.

Reviewer:Mr. Euan M | Sat 30th Aug 2014 | 5 years ago


title - Rating 5/5

Really helpful when we arrived soaking wet

Response

Thank you for your comments

Reviewer:Richard E | Thu 14th Aug 2014 | 5 years ago


A beautiful place - Rating 5/5

Myself, my Partner and our 1year old daughter stayed for one night recently and absolutely loved it. The room was a great size with a lovely en suite. The room also had a large terrace with a fantastic view, a great way to start the day with a coffee looking out to the beautiful countryside and perfectly kept gardens. Room was very clean as was the rest of the building. Great breakfast set us up for the day. Child friendly for definite and owner John was very hospitable. I would definitely recommend Bongate House

Response

thank you for your comment greatly appreciated hpoe to see you again one day

Reviewer:Mr. Kevin O | Wed 4th Jun 2014 | 5 years ago


Lovely Clean House - Rating 5/5

What a lovely place to stay and the breakfast was to die for nothing was to much trouble

Response

Thank you for your kind comments

Reviewer:Mrs. Diana B | Sat 24th May 2014 | 6 years ago


Glad I came - Rating 5/5

Everything I needed for a relaxing break. Welcoming and comfortable. Will come again when in the area.

Response

Thank you for your kind comments greatly appreciated

Reviewer:Mr. Colin G | Wed 7th May 2014 | 6 years ago


“A VERY COMFORTABLE TRADITIONAL ENGLISH B&B” - Rating 5/5

-grand and traditional English B&B in picturesque Eden Valley small town-very tastefully furnished throughout-upgraded to larger and en suite room-very comfortable bed-tea, coffee &biscuits in room-multi channel TV in room-stable wifi throughout-residents lounge-some nice touches throughout the property including chocs in the lounge, quality towels and range of soaps and shower gels in bathroom-excellent breakfast including a smoked salmon and scrambled egg alternative to the usual full English-a local recommendation for evening dinner venue-mid-week March business trip &occupancy was low-I anticipate this accommodation will be popular from Easter onwards because of close proximity to Cumbria Fells &Lake District-highly recommended-plan ahead and book ahead!!

Response

Thank you for your very kind comments. RegardsJohn

Reviewer:Mr. Nicholas G | Fri 28th Mar 2014 | 6 years ago


Extra Information

  • Pet Friendly
  • Safe & Secure Payment
  • Free Parking
  • Parking Facilities
  • Golf Course Nearby
  • Laundry
  • Family Rooms
  • Wifi
  • Vegetarian
  • Walking Holidays

General Policy

Our cancellation policy is as follows;Up until 7 nights before your stay we refund full cost. After 7 Days we refund the cost minus the deposit and if cancelled less than 24 hours before your stay we charge the full amount.

Children between the ages of 0-2 are free of charge .Over 12’s are booked in at adult prices.

There is an option to check in/out early/late at an extra cost.

Dogs must be approved by us before booking.