Reviews

3RT Christmas Cycling Tour - Rating 5/5

We stayed here for one night on our annual Christmas cycling tour, our bikes were stored in a secure garage, the facilities were very clean &the breakfast was the best of all the tour. Thanks Anne we will be back.

Response

Dear Paul.Thank you for the lovely review. It was a pleasure to have you stay. I hope the cycle from us was not too cold.Kind regards, Anne

Reviewer:Paul C | Mon 17th Dec 2018 | 7 months ago


Cosy Comfortable and friendly B&B - Rating 5/5

High quality furnishing and comfortable bed coupled with friendly welcome and tasty breakfast. Also good value. Top Notch.

Reviewer:Adrian L | Sun 2nd Dec 2018 | 7 months ago


Walking boots ready - Rating 5/5

A welcoming and comfortable base for our challenging walk on the Pennine Way.

Reviewer:Mrs Judith B | Sat 27th Oct 2018 | 8 months ago


Walking boots ready - Rating 5/5

A welcoming and comfortable base for our challenging walk on the Pennine Way.

Reviewer:Mrs Judith B | Fri 26th Oct 2018 | 8 months ago


Good value B&B - Rating 4/5

Enjoyed the stay and the pub across the road.One of the best breakfasts ever!

Reviewer:Roger H | Fri 19th Oct 2018 | 9 months ago


Bongate house october 2018 - Rating 5/5

Excellent accommodation and facilities, very welcome on a wet and windy evening

Reviewer:Dan E | Sun 14th Oct 2018 | 9 months ago


Warm welcome!! - Rating 5/5

Extremely light, bright and comfortable room.Very warm welcome received from Ann &Mick.Really helpful and couple who were more than happy to advise on the local area, and on the best places to eat out.Great breakfast to start the day off too!Thank you for a great stay.

Reviewer:Jill H | Sun 14th Oct 2018 | 9 months ago


Walking The Dales High Way - Rating 5/5

We arrived here on a Sunday evening, having completed the last stage of The Dales High Way. We were made to feel very welcome the moment we arrived. Our room was spacious and clean and the breakfast excellent. Would highly recommend Bongate House, for anybody planning a trip to Appleby

Reviewer:Roy L | Sun 30th Sep 2018 | 9 months ago


Lovely stay! - Rating 4/5

Our room was just lovely and the owner, Ann, couldn't do enough for us. Breakfast was delicious with home cooked porridge too. All in all we'd definitely recommend Bongate House.

Reviewer:Frances J | Mon 24th Sep 2018 | 9 months ago


Warm Welcome and lovely accommodation - Rating 5/5

This was our first visit, a recce for future stopovers here on our planned cycle forays to the southern Eden Vale.Staff were friendly and keen to make our stay pleasant.They made an extra effort to provide for our no-oil vegan(Dr Esselstyn) diet and are well set up for Cycle tourists.We will return next year, God willing.

Reviewer:Wendy W | Thu 20th Sep 2018 | 10 months ago


Calm, comfortble haven. - Rating 4/5

My husband is cycling Land's End to John O'Groats, Bongate House proved an ideal place for both of us.Safe car parking for my and lock up garage for the bike. Mick welcomed us, was friendly and helpful. Thank you Mick.Great room and facilities good Recommended Royal Oak to eat just down hill.Good

Reviewer:Jane S | Mon 17th Sep 2018 | 10 months ago


Friendly, great breakfasts and good location - Rating 5/5

Perfect for a stopover just on the outskirts of Appleby or for longer durations in the Eden Valley.We stayed in room 8, the only ground floor room which is ideal if you are travelling with a dog. There is also a large lawn at the rear of the house on which you can take your dog, although it is not enclosed.Lovely breakfasts and plenty of choice.

Reviewer:Angela B | Thu 13th Sep 2018 | 10 months ago


Friendly welcome- Rating 4/5

A very comfortable guesthouse with bedrooms and bathrooms newly refurbished and a lovely couple who couldn’t do enough to welcome 6 bedraggled PW Walkers . Good value pack lunches too xx

Reviewer:Lucy W | Tue 11th Sep 2018 | 10 months ago


A comfortable interruption between Scotland and the Ferry - Rating 5/5

We have been verry happy to have such a comfortable stop on our yourney from Scotland to the Ferry at Hull. Having driven the hole day at is very relaxing to have a warm welcome and a comfortable room and bathroom. Starting with a rich breakfast in the morning helps to feel well the whole day. Thanks

Reviewer:Barbara & Jürgen L | Sun 26th Aug 2018 | 10 months ago


A home from home - Rating 5/5

Would return to Bongate house and would recommend it to others, lovely big clean and comfortable room with a great ensuite, the breakfast was excellent - the hosts also friendly and helpful!

Reviewer:Roz A | Sat 25th Aug 2018 | 10 months ago


Overnight stay- Rating 4/5

We had a very pleasant 1 night stay. We received a warm welcome and the room was very nice with views to the garden fields.our breakfasts was very good and we had good contact owners

Reviewer:David S | Wed 22nd Aug 2018 | 11 months ago


Walking the Lady Anne\'s Way - Rating 5/5

My wife and I took 6 days to walk the Lady Anne's Way from Skipton to Penrith.Appleby was our penultimate night, and Bongate House was outstanding.Tea and cakes on arrival and a fantastic room.What more could you eant at the end of a 20 mile walk?THOROUGHLY recommended.

Reviewer:Mr Richard G | Wed 22nd Aug 2018 | 11 months ago


Short but very sweet - Rating 5/5

Last minute booking phoned hotel room rate cheaper than last min sitesgreeted warmlyroom with balcony lovely and cosy breakfast lovely and load to eatno requests too much troublevery relaxed chatty and friendlywill definitely go back with dogs and teenager

Reviewer:Gaynor D | Tue 21st Aug 2018 | 11 months ago


Weekend in the Lakes - Rating 5/5

Appleby is quiet and relaxing with beautiful scenery.Bongate house was lovley.Idealy located only 5 mins walk into town.We arrived early and was allowed to our room which was ready.3 very comfy beds.Breakfast was absolutely wonderful.Couldn't fault anything.Our hosts were lovely too.

Reviewer:Natalie M | Mon 20th Aug 2018 | 11 months ago


Out 2night stay at Appleby- Rating 5/5

Ann and Mick the owners were lovely friendly people, and Mick cooks a fantastic breakfast ! The house was lovely and clean and the rooms are very comfortable with everything you need for your stay , when in that area again I would definitely stay again

Reviewer:Penny S | Mon 20th Aug 2018 | 11 months ago


Over night stay- Rating 5/5

Lovely warm and friendly fantastic breakfast very close to town centre would highly recommend

Reviewer:Mr Keith B | Mon 20th Aug 2018 | 11 months ago


Helpful, friendly . Nothing too much trouble- Rating 5/5

A group of friends stayed overnight . We were able to leave our bicycles safely the first day and our cars the second day and even given access to a room to freshen up after our bike ride. We had left behind a saucepan we needed and asked the lady where we could buy one - she very kindly lent us one . The bathroom in the triple room we shared was new and beautifully clean and well fitted. There were plenty of bath sheets and lovely shower / hand washes . Breakfast was very good and efficient with very attentive service.A superb find . Thank you very much indeed .

Reviewer:Mary S S | Mon 13th Aug 2018 | 11 months ago


Yorkshire visitors- Rating 5/5

Clean comfortable and excellent breakfast

Reviewer:Mr F | Tue 24th Jul 2018 | 12 months ago


A great wee find!!! - Rating 5/5

Spent one night here in July and would happily recommend to anyone. Room was not only lovely but was also very spacious. Our host was very very friendly and nothing was a bother and the breakfast set us both up for the day, it was delicious!!! Will defo be back 👍🏻

Reviewer:Evelyn C | Mon 23rd Jul 2018 | 12 months ago


Very friendly & convenient location - Rating 5/5

Short stay whilst planning a move to the area. Ann and Mick were super helpful, Ann with her useful tips on the area. Lovely quiet stay with superb English breakfast and other choices. We will be back for that cuppa in the near future :)

Reviewer:Marie H | Sun 22nd Jul 2018 | 12 months ago


Bongate House - Rating 5/5

For me this was a last minute stay for 3 days whilst visiting my brother who live locally. Comfortable, clean and very well presented room. Was felt very welcome by my hosts, I was well looked after. Fed well on a veggie breakfast and am certain that I have gained a few extra Lbs!My choice to stay when I next visit. Thank you

Response

Dear DavidThank you for the kind review. It was a pleasure getting to know you and your mum.We hope to see you again soon.Anne & Mick

Reviewer:Daniel N | Mon 16th Jul 2018 | 1 year ago


Family Visit - Rating 5/5

I booked two rooms for a family visit from London, one for my mother and another for my brother, as my daughter and her family had taken over our house during the same visit.The rooms were lovely and clean and the owners amazingly friendly and accommodating (pun intended).Althoygh I didn't have one my veggie brother enjoyed the food and my mother complained she ate too much (!).All visitors have left now and have said how much they enjoyed their visit to Appleby.

Response

Thank you Daniel.I know your family enjoyed visiting with you. It was a pleasure to have them stay with us so that we also benefitted with getting to know a fellow Appleby resident too.

Reviewer:Daniel N | Thu 12th Jul 2018 | 1 year ago


a stay in june - Rating 5/5

enjoyed my stay very nice

Reviewer:Iain S | Sat 23rd Jun 2018 | 1 year ago


Fantastic stay - Rating 5/5

Really welcoming, comfy - great breakfast and even gave us an OS map of the area when we realised we had the wrong one!

Reviewer:Simon K | Sun 27th May 2018 | 1 year ago


Really welcoming hosts - Rating 4/5

We had a lovely stay at Bongate. We were made to feel extremely welcome and nothing was too much trouble---they even provided fantastic sunshine. Although the hotel was being re roofed at the time of our stay it did not affect us at all. We certainly will stay again if we return to Appleby. We certainly hope to as it is a lovely place.

Reviewer:Elaine C | Wed 9th May 2018 | 1 year ago


Beautiful- Rating 5/5

Wonderful service, beautiful room and reasonable price. Very helpful travel advice from the owner. Thank you so much.

Reviewer:Odelia M | Sat 28th Apr 2018 | 1 year ago


Great bnb- Rating 5/5

An ideal place to stay for our walking holiday. Comfortable beds (enough singles), good showers, good breakfasts and a friendly welcome.

Reviewer:Heather H | Wed 25th Apr 2018 | 1 year ago


Excellent- Rating 5/5

Would definitely recommend this bed and breakfast.Very clean, comfortable,spacious. We had the room at the back with a balcony, lovelyviews. The owners Ann and Mick lovely people

Response

Again thank you for your booking and kind review. The scaffold will soon be down and new furniture has arrived for the balcony. With that and some new flowerpots we hope that any future bookings will be an even nicer experience. Enjoy you next walking adventure and we hope to see you again.

Reviewer:Mrs Barbara H | Mon 23rd Apr 2018 | 1 year ago


Enjoyable weekend Stay at Bongate House - Rating 5/5

Really enjoyed our weekend stay at Bongate House. Lovely room with comfortable beds and excellent breakfast. Anne was very attentive and helpful providing us with a sandwich lunch for our days walking. Also welcomed fresh milk being made available in the room for tea and coffee. Thank you and good luck with upgrading plans.

Response

Thank you for your kind review. So glad you had lovely weather for your walk.

Reviewer:Gill K | Mon 23rd Apr 2018 | 1 year ago


First class - Rating 4/5

First class friendly service. Good food. Good accommodation.

Response

Thank you. I have to say I love this life. We get to meet so many lovely people.Thank you for staying at a time that we had the roof off and so the house not looking its best.

Reviewer:James W | Sun 22nd Apr 2018 | 1 year ago


Lovely stopover! - Rating 5/5

A great little hotel with lovely owners.The refurbishment is well underway now and offers spacious rooms with beautifully appointed en-suite shower rooms including very large shower space.Lovely bedding and towels with decent toiletries add to the luxury.Breakfast offered a great choice of teas, and other drinks, fresh fruit, yoghurt and a fabulous cooked breakfast.We didn't try the porridge but I can't imagine it would be disappointing.With happy banter from Anne and Mick this proved to be a great stopover from Scotland and we'll certainly do it again.Many thanks.

Reviewer:Mr & Mrs G | Sun 11th Mar 2018 | 1 year ago


Top Quality B&B - Rating 5/5

Very comfortable triple room.Good secure cycle storage.We enjoyed having use of the sitting room.Very friendly welcome &after a day of cycling, the coffee and banana cake were much appreciated!Excellent breakfast.

Reviewer:Mr Alan F | Wed 24th May 2017 | 2 years ago


fantastic holiday - Rating 5/5

Thank you to anne and mick for being wonderful hosts. We were made at home right away and nothing was too much trouble. food was excellent and those beds were so comfortable we didn't want to get out of them.thank you so much for making our holiday so memorable.

Reviewer:Mr & Mrs P | Sun 23rd Apr 2017 | 2 years ago


Wonderful - Rating 5/5

What a delightful property and so welcoming. Being brought a jug of fresh milk for the tea and coffee in the room was a lovely touch, simple but it makes a huge difference.Breakfast was designed to stop me moving for an hour or two afterwards;well overfed just about sums it up.The room was spacious, comfortable and warm and despite being at the front of the house it was quiet enough that I slept far longer than I usually do.It is often hard to find anywhere that is happy to accommodate two dogs but the dogs were not only welcomed there is enough garden for them to take a quick bedtime constitutional without venturing onto the road.All in all, this proved to be a fabulous choice of accommodation with easy access to the town for evening meals and a couple of beers. I have a feeling that we will be back.Thank you.

Reviewer:Ian B | Tue 15th Nov 2016 | 2 years ago


Home from home- Rating 5/5

Very comfortable rooms.More than ample breakfast and our hosts were superb. Thankyou Anne and Mick.Highly recommended.

Reviewer:Colin D | Mon 14th Nov 2016 | 2 years ago


An oasis on the Pennine way - Rating 5/5

My son was walking the pennine way in November.Our stay at Bongate House provided us with the ideal respite that he needed after a mixture of camping and bunk houses.We were made to feel very welcome and nothing was too much trouble for our hosts.We had an early morning start at around 06:30, but coffee and a packed lunch were waiting for us.I returned for an excellent full English breakfast later!The rooms were spotless and the heating and hot shower were very welcome.It was a pleasure to stay somewhere where our dog was genuinely welcome.I would highly recommend Bongate House.Thank you.

Reviewer:Dr. Chris T | Tue 8th Nov 2016 | 2 years ago


November weekend break - Rating 5/5

Bongate House is now under new ownership, and despite being the only guests in for the whole weekend, nothing was too much trouble for the new owners Mick and Anne. We were made to feel very welcome. Our room was spacious and lovely and warm on arrival. The whole house was spotlessly clean and the bed was very comfy with good pillows too. Breakfast selection was good and a full English breakfast was cooked to perfection. Although the house is a little dated in decor, Anne and Mick have plans to update it. We were fortunate to be given a tour of the house and rooms and to hear of the plans for the future of both the house and garden. We will definitely return and look forward to watching the transformation take place.

Reviewer:Mr. David R | Tue 8th Nov 2016 | 2 years ago


Superb - Rating 5/5

Very friendly and homely B&B, breakfast was great, single room as lovely, bed very comfortable, felt at home, highly recommended.

Reviewer:Frances S | Mon 4th Jul 2016 | 3 years ago


Bongate House - Rating 5/5

Only here for 1 day, Excellent hospitality from Anne and Mike, Room clean and comfortable if a little dated, Nothing was too much trouble for them, Great food and atmosphere will certainly be planning a return visit

Reviewer:Paul M | Mon 4th Jul 2016 | 3 years ago


high standard typical English B&B - Rating 4/5

Everything one can expect and wish from a typical English B&B.One small minor point was de wifi signal that dropped quickly to unusable going away from the hall. But steps are taken to solve this.

Reviewer:Guido V | Mon 4th Jul 2016 | 3 years ago


Good Pennine Way Stay - Rating 4/5

Stayed one night as part of a Pennine Way walk. Nice welcome. Comfy clean rooms, good breakfast, and lift to the start of my walk at Dufton. Very walker friendly, thank you for saving my legs! One thing could be better, fresh coffee at breakfast rather than instant.

Reviewer:Julie K | Mon 20th Jun 2016 | 3 years ago


nice stay - Rating 4/5

nice room, comfortable bed enjoying a great night sleep, very nice bathroom, excellent breakfast. would recommend to family and friends.

Reviewer:Mr. steven c | Wed 25th May 2016 | 3 years ago


Dennis Wyatt - Rating 4/5

Room 2 a fine double bedroom with ensuite with balcony roof good valueI had porridge for breakfast and it was very nice.Pleasant and polite patrons who had just taken over.I wish them every success.

Reviewer:Mr. Christopher G | Thu 19th May 2016 | 3 years ago


Very comfortable… would definitely stay again - Rating 5/5

It may be listed as a B&B, and consequently the single room I stayed in may have been on the small side (i.e.. cozy)…. but in all other respects I found all facilities, service, hospitality and location first class. I checked in very early. Shared bathroom was spick and span… loads of towels.Breakfast… anything and everything that I might have expected seemed to be available (even Marmite).Even the room's folder of information was comprehensive (I checked my train times in it).And my host John made me feel very welcome.I was just sorry I wasn't staying longer !

Reviewer:Sean M | Wed 4th May 2016 | 3 years ago


Just the job - Rating 4/5

Very friendly welcome. Comfortable beds. Helpful directions to local amenities and owner rang the pub to reserve a table. Excellent English breakfast with all the trimmings. Ideal stopover for tired walkers. No hesitation to recommend it. Thank you.

Reviewer:Mr. Steve J | Mon 2nd May 2016 | 3 years ago


lovely house - Rating 4/5

Owners were lovely and made us feel at home. The room was spacious with ensuite.Good cooked breakfast. Garden is lovely too. Not too far a walk to town and very short walk to town. The ensuite was a bit cold so I would recommend getting a heated towel rail

Reviewer:Angela C | Tue 12th Apr 2016 | 3 years ago


Extra Information

  • Pet Friendly
  • Credit Card
  • Free Parking
  • Parking Facilities
  • Golf Course Nearby
  • Laundry
  • Family Rooms
  • Wifi
  • Vegetarian
  • Walking Holidays

General Policy

Our cancellation policy is as follows;Up until 7 nights before your stay we refund full cost. After 7 Days we refund the cost minus the deposit and if cancelled less than 24 hours before your stay we charge the full amount.
Children between the ages of 0-2 are free of charge .Over 12’s are booked in at adult prices.
There is an option to check in/out early/late at an extra cost.
Dogs must be approved by us before booking.