Reviews

Top Quality B&B - Rating 5/5

Very comfortable triple room.Good secure cycle storage.We enjoyed having use of the sitting room.Very friendly welcome &after a day of cycling, the coffee and banana cake were much appreciated!Excellent breakfast.

Reviewer:Mr Alan Faichney | Wed 24th May 2017


fantastic holiday - Rating 5/5

Thank you to anne and mick for being wonderful hosts. We were made at home right away and nothing was too much trouble. food was excellent and those beds were so comfortable we didn\'t want to get out of them.thank you so much for making our holiday so memorable.

Reviewer:Mr & Mrs Parfitt | Sun 23rd Apr 2017


Wonderful - Rating 5/5

What a delightful property and so welcoming. Being brought a jug of fresh milk for the tea and coffee in the room was a lovely touch, simple but it makes a huge difference.Breakfast was designed to stop me moving for an hour or two afterwards;well overfed just about sums it up.The room was spacious, comfortable and warm and despite being at the front of the house it was quiet enough that I slept far longer than I usually do.It is often hard to find anywhere that is happy to accommodate two dogs but the dogs were not only welcomed there is enough garden for them to take a quick bedtime constitutional without venturing onto the road.All in all, this proved to be a fabulous choice of accommodation with easy access to the town for evening meals and a couple of beers. I have a feeling that we will be back.Thank you.

Reviewer:Ian Butler | Tue 15th Nov 2016


Home from home- Rating 5/5

Very comfortable rooms.More than ample breakfast and our hosts were superb. Thankyou Anne and Mick.Highly recommended.

Reviewer:Colin Dixon | Mon 14th Nov 2016


An oasis on the Pennine way - Rating 5/5

My son was walking the pennine way in November.Our stay at Bongate House provided us with the ideal respite that he needed after a mixture of camping and bunk houses.We were made to feel very welcome and nothing was too much trouble for our hosts.We had an early morning start at around 06:30, but coffee and a packed lunch were waiting for us.I returned for an excellent full English breakfast later!The rooms were spotless and the heating and hot shower were very welcome.It was a pleasure to stay somewhere where our dog was genuinely welcome.I would highly recommend Bongate House.Thank you.

Reviewer:Dr. Chris Till | Tue 8th Nov 2016


November weekend break - Rating 5/5

Bongate House is now under new ownership, and despite being the only guests in for the whole weekend, nothing was too much trouble for the new owners Mick and Anne. We were made to feel very welcome. Our room was spacious and lovely and warm on arrival. The whole house was spotlessly clean and the bed was very comfy with good pillows too. Breakfast selection was good and a full English breakfast was cooked to perfection. Although the house is a little dated in decor, Anne and Mick have plans to update it. We were fortunate to be given a tour of the house and rooms and to hear of the plans for the future of both the house and garden. We will definitely return and look forward to watching the transformation take place.

Reviewer:Mr. David Rudge | Tue 8th Nov 2016


Superb - Rating 5/5

Very friendly and homely B&B, breakfast was great, single room as lovely, bed very comfortable, felt at home, highly recommended.

Reviewer:Frances Smith | Mon 4th Jul 2016


Bongate House - Rating 5/5

Only here for 1 day, Excellent hospitality from Anne and Mike, Room clean and comfortable if a little dated, Nothing was too much trouble for them, Great food and atmosphere will certainly be planning a return visit

Reviewer:Paul Mather | Mon 4th Jul 2016


high standard typical English B&B - Rating 4/5

Everything one can expect and wish from a typical English B&B. One small minor point was de wifi signal that dropped quickly to unusable going away from the hall. But steps are taken to solve this.

Reviewer:Guido Vandroemme | Mon 4th Jul 2016


Bongate House - Rating 4/5

stayed over two nights;confusion as new owners and our reservation was not correct, nor did they expect our dog.However, all sorted quickly and amicably.Room, and bathroom, very pleasant, good breakfast.One quibble, was charged £10 more for a change of room to one larger, because of the dog, in spite of an initial agreement not to charge extra!

Reviewer:Mrs. angela eastwood | Mon 20th Jun 2016


Good Pennine Way Stay - Rating 4/5

Stayed one night as part of a Pennine Way walk. Nice welcome. Comfy clean rooms, good breakfast, and lift to the start of my walk at Dufton. Very walker friendly, thank you for saving my legs! One thing could be better, fresh coffee at breakfast rather than instant.

Reviewer:Julie Kitchin | Mon 20th Jun 2016


nice stay - Rating 4/5

nice room, comfortable bed enjoying a great night sleep, very nice bathroom, excellent breakfast. would recommend to family and friends.

Reviewer:Mr. steven clays | Wed 25th May 2016


Dennis Wyatt - Rating 4/5

Room 2 a fine double bedroom with ensuite with balcony roof good value I had porridge for breakfast and it was very nice.Pleasant and polite patrons who had just taken over.I wish them every success.

Reviewer:Mr. Christopher Galloway | Thu 19th May 2016


Very comfortable… would definitely stay again - Rating 5/5

It may be listed as a B&B, and consequently the single room I stayed in may have been on the small side (i.e.. cozy)…. but in all other respects I found all facilities, service, hospitality and location first class. I checked in very early. Shared bathroom was spick and span… loads of towels.Breakfast… anything and everything that I might have expected seemed to be available (even Marmite).Even the room\'s folder of information was comprehensive (I checked my train times in it).And my host John made me feel very welcome.I was just sorry I wasn\'t staying longer !

Reviewer:Sean McMichael | Wed 4th May 2016


Just the job - Rating 4/5

Very friendly welcome. Comfortable beds. Helpful directions to local amenities and owner rang the pub to reserve a table. Excellent English breakfast with all the trimmings. Ideal stopover for tired walkers. No hesitation to recommend it. Thank you.

Reviewer:Mr. Steve Jackson | Mon 2nd May 2016


lovely house - Rating 4/5

Owners were lovely and made us feel at home. The room was spacious with ensuite.Good cooked breakfast. Garden is lovely too. Not too far a walk to town and very short walk to town. The ensuite was a bit cold so I would recommend getting a heated towel rail

Reviewer:Angela Clarke | Tue 12th Apr 2016


Extra Information

  • Pet Friendly
  • Credit Card
  • Free Parking
  • Parking Facilities
  • Golf Course Nearby
  • Laundry
  • Family Rooms
  • Internet Services
  • Wifi
  • Vegetarian
  • Walking Holidays

Our cancellation policy is as follows;Up until 7 nights before your stay we refund full cost. After 7 Days we refund the cost minus the deposit and if cancelled less than 24 hours before your stay we charge the full amount.
Children between the ages of 0-2 are free of charge .Over 12’s are booked in at adult prices.
There is an option to check in/out early/late at an extra cost.
Dogs must be approved by us before booking.